Dedicated to Sri Sarada Devi

A Place where devotees gather to share inspiration.

"Holy Mother" painted by Swami Tadatmananda

Used courtesy of the Vedanta Society of Southern California

http://www.vedanta.org

Dedicated to Sri Sarada Devi
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: What is "harsh"?

Dear Tom,

I am not a Doctor, and your daughter would know whether or not diabetes could kill you before it got your feet. I just know my two cousins (luckily on opposite sides of the family, and inherited through the opposite parents from my nuclear family)have both got extreme feet trouble, and they are clean and that it started young, and with insulin to boot!!

Also, I had a friend in grade school that had diabetes and his was childhood-onset, and he would go into diabetic comas and stuff. I just don't recall that Swamiji went into comas.

Of course, he did go in to at least two very deep trances that I have read about thus far. One time it was at Camp Percy while he was meditating under a tree, and Joe thought he was dead and ran to get help. It took a few minutes for him to rouse up, but he was unresponsive long enough to alarm Joe.

I went in to a coma once when I was 5 years old. I don't remember it and didn't know about it until I read it in my medical chart. My Mom couldn't wake me up, and she carried me to the hospital where they stuck pins in my feet. Somehow, I eventually came out of it.

Since I have been wrong enough times in my life, I never try to belabor a point and say that I am right anymore. These are just my own discriminative skills which might be proven wrong under any star or any juncture of time.

Still, I think you are right that Swamiji just didn't feel good after or perhaps even during, his second trip to America.

I'm looking forward to receiving my new book on the Leggett family, but this book on Tantine is keeping me mesmerized!!